Nor’easter Conference Reflections

Image

Over 70 climate advocates from New Jersey to New England converged on Long Island last weekend for the Nor’easter Regional Conference, and by all measures it was a resounding success!

Image

One of the things I love most about CCL is that I am constantly challenged to venture outside my comfort zone, and this conference was no different. Following the keynote, I joined the other new and prospective members of CCL to role-play meetings with members of Congress. I quickly learned that while I am easily thrown off and frustrated by the nuances of politics, I am more comfortable talking about how the carbon tax will work. Luckily, my fellow role-players and I had complementary skills. I feel far less intimidated by in-person lobbying now that I realize we can each play a different role.

Image

Image

Image

As the weekend progressed, there were plenty of opportunities to connect with new people during and between sessions. Attendees enjoyed delicious vegan refreshments, thanks in part to a grant from VegFund. We were also lucky to have support from sponsors GreenDecade Newton, Empower Solar, and SUNation Solar Systems. Both Empower and SUNation were on hand to answer our questions about going solar. My own home will be fitted with panels very soon! It was truly inspiring to be among so many people who are committed to a clean power future.

Image

Image

Image

At every single CCL meeting or event I attend, I learn something new and empowering. I was thrilled when Executive Director Mark Reynolds reported that CCL has Washington’s attention, and that well-respected environmental groups with millions of members are now taking policy cues from our little 3000-strong organization! As Mark explained, we can chalk that up to our persistence and our professionalism. It is CCL’s culture of respect and appreciation for the opponents of climate action that moves the conversation forward.

Image

I am honored to be a part of that conversation. To the CCL Long Island conference organizers, to all those who attended, and everyone in CCL working to make meaningful climate action a reality, thank you so much for all you do.

Jeanne

Image

Posted in About us, Conferences

Leave a Reply

